CHAMPS/Life Skills
CHAMPS/Life Skills logo

Mandi Bennett
Director of Student-Athlete Development

The CHAMPS/Life Skills Program (Challenging Athletes' Minds for Personal Success) was created in 1991 to support the student-athlete development initiatives of NCAA member institutions and to enhance the quality of the student-athlete experience within the context of higher education. Over 160 Division II institutions, including Florida Tech, are members of the program.


The Panther Cup is a competition for all sports teams. The challenge provides an opportunity for student-athletes to accumulate points in seven categories:

  • Commitment to athletic excellence
  • Commitment to academic excellence
  • Commitment to supporting other student-athletes
  • Commitment to career and personal development
  • Commitment to Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC)
  • Commitment to community service
  • Going above and beyond


1. Athletic Excellence: Teams will be awarded points based on national, regional or conference recognition. Points will be awarded based on the following criteria:

75 points National Champions
50 points SSC Conference Champions or winner of SSC Tournament
35 points NCAA regional participant
20 points Individual named All-American
15 points Individual named All-Region
10 points Individual named All-SSC

2. Academic Excellence: The team with the highest GPA at the end of each semester will be awarded 25 points. Additionally, each team will earn points according to their team GPA. Points will be earned based on the following criteria:

150 points Individual GPA of 3.0 or higher (% based)
25 points Team with highest semester GPA
10 points Individual with perfect 4.0 GPA

Team Semester GPA

100 points 4.0 GPA
90 points 3.75 – 3.99 GPA
80 points 3.50 – 3.74 GPA
70 points 3.25 – 3.49 GPA
60 points 3.00 – 3.24 GPA
50 points 2.75 – 2.99 GPA
40 points 2.50 – 2.74 GPA
30 points 2.25 – 2.49 GPA
20 points 2.00 – 2.24 GPA
10 points 2.00 GPA

3. Supporting Other Athletes: Each team will select two home contests to attend. Twenty-five points will be earned for attending the contests. Points will also be awarded to student-athletes from other teams that attend the events.

4. Career and Personal Development: Student-athletes can earn points for their teams through developing their resume and three cover letters, completing a mock interview, completing the career preparation program and attending various programs throughout the academic year. Points will be earned based on the following criteria:

50 points (% based) Complete a resume and have it evaluated by the Career Center. Bring a copy of the original and edited/corrected version to the Director of Student-Athlete Development.
50 points (% based) Complete three cover letters for three different jobs in your intended field. Letters need to be reviewed by the Career Center. Then, submit the letters to the Director of Student-Athlete Development.
50 points (% based) Complete a mock interview in the Career Center. Bring a signed form from the Career Center and submit it to the Director of Student-Athlete Development.
25 points Attend athletic-sponsored programs

5. SAAC: Twenty points will be earned for attending each SAAC meeting.

6. Community Service: Teams will earn points based on the number of hours volunteered in the community. Student-athletes must complete the Community Service Report Sheet to receive credit for the hours worked. A downloadable form is located at the top of this page. Completed forms are due Friday, April 1, 2011. Points will be earned based on the following criteria:

75 points Team with most community service hours for the academic year.
50 points Teams that have full participation (at least 80%) at an approved event for more than four hours.
10 points The number of hours volunteered will be divided by the squad size. That figure will then be multiplied by 10.

7. Above and Beyond: This category ensures that credit will be given to any student-athlete who goes the extra mile. It will also be used in case there was something a student-athlete did, which deserves recognition, but it doesn’t fall into the six other categories.